Walking Hand in Hand With My Father By Christina McKiddy

Today I have a very special gift for you. Christina McKiddy has written a beautiful post that I know will just bless you and encourage you. If you are in a difficult situation and ready to give up, Christina encourages you to look to God for your help and your comfort.


Walking Hand in Hand With My Father

By Christina McKiddy, Guest Blogger
            I sat among the fallen leaves. Vivid colors of oranges, reds, yellows and browns swallowed me in their vast presence. The small brook beside my house was gurgling as it trickled over stones of old. A slight breeze tickled my face and played with my hair as I closed my eyes and let the previous day’s events wash over me. I had tried to keep the terrible day hidden in the back of my mind, but as I was bathing in the smoky fall day these events pushed their way to the front of my mind, demanding attention.
            I looked up at the bright blue sky, searching for any sight of God. I breathed in and slowly let it out. With each exhale, the nightmare from the previous day released its grip on me. I felt a gentle quietness stirring within me—these moments spent with my Daddy God were exactly what I needed,
            I crawled into His lap and rested in His strong, gentle presence. “God, why do these things happen to me? I am so worn down emotionally. I don’t know how I will go on. Please, just make it go away.”
            Then I heard His still voice say, “My child, do you trust me?”
           
            “Of course I do, Lord, but why do I have to suffer so?”
            “I am preparing you. I am molding you into what you were born to be. The suffering will not continue, but you must be ready for the path ahead that I have paved for you.”
            Wow. My eyes popped open. I knew exactly what He was talking about. Isn’t it amazing how God is so patient with us? I know what steps he has been asking of me—I have felt his gentle nudge for a while. I know that my life will get better, but it is up to me to make these changes. “Thank you Father, I love you.”
            I stood up and smiled as I wiped the tears from my eyes. I knew what I had to do and, even though I am not quite ready, I know that God will be patient with me. He will hold my hand and guide me. He is my light in the darkness, and one day, when I have the courage, I will honor Him with my obedience. Until then, I walk hand in hand with my Father.
Exodus 33:14 ~ “And He said, ‘My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.'”
****************************************************************
 BIO: Christina McKiddy is a wife and mother of three residing in western North Carolina. God called her into nursing seven years ago. She is a night shift worker for the medical/pediatric floor at Wilkes Regional Medical Center. Christina is in the process of creating a Christian blog for nurses. Her blog will strengthen them in their calling through real life stories where nurses embrace each opportunity as a ministering moment for their patients.
© Tee’s Photography, 2013
© Heart Thoughts, Marcie Bridges, 2013 
 
4 thoughts on “Walking Hand in Hand With My Father By Christina McKiddy

  1. Wow!!!! Christina, thank you for using your gift to glorify the Father. You have amazing talent. I can't wait for your blog to start, and I'm not even a nurse! Love you!

    Like

  2. Hi Cristina! Thank you for sharing your peace with me today. I do think that our pain has a use and meaning, and you really confirmed that for me. I have been going through a rough patch for several years now…it's not so fun. But I do believe that there are better days ahead.

    God bless you!
    Ceil

    Like

Leave a Reply

