A JOURNEY’S PRAYER

Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be afraid of them; for the Lord your God, He is the One who goes with you. He will not leave you nor forsake you.” 
 Deuteronomy 31:6 (NKJV)

24 Years ago this week my family (dad, mom, brother, sister and I) moved from San Diego, California to a little town called Hickory, North Carolina. I was 18 years young at the time. I had just graduated from high school with  no drivers license, no job, no car….basically, I had no choice. I had to come. It was a huge change! I left all of my friends behind and the life I knew. It was a very sad time in my life. 
Here is a picture of our U-Haul truck towing one of our many vehicles. My Uncle C.J.  and Aunt Betty came to help us move. It was a lonnnngggg trip! 

 We made it safely to North Carolina a week later. I cannot say I’ve ever fallen in love with this state but it can be a nice place to live. I think my heart will always be in California. I lived there all of my growing up years.
The night before we left I wrote the following poem and I remember my mom reading it the next morning with tears in her eyes saying how much she loved it. She would hold onto it forever. 
A JOURNEY’S PRAYER

We are on our way
We’ve just begun
The trip is long
But the work is done.
Now we will rest
Our journey to begin
A world unknown
Awaits us in the end.
“Dear God,” we pray,
“Be with us today,
Guide our eyes and our hearts
Throughout each day.
Give us wisdom, and courage, too
To face each challenge as well as the new.
Be with us now,
Take our hands,
Lead us onward…
Amen.”

~Marcell Warner Bridges
©16, July 1990 All Rights Reserved

So here’s my prayer for you. No matter what journey you are on today or tomorrow, I pray that God will guide your eyes and your heart in wisdom with courage to face each challenge and each new thing that comes into your life. I know your journey may be a rough one right now, I pray God will use it to His glory and for the good that He promises it will be. For those who are enjoying the journey they are on now, I pray you will stay close to God even in the good times so that when the hard times come you will know He is there with you always. He’ll never leave you, never forsake you, and He’ll never let go of your hand. Amen. 

© Heart Thoughts, Marcie Bridges, 2014

Leave a Reply

