OCTOBER REFLECTIONS

Emily P. Freeman invites us to explore what we have learned at the end of each month and share it with her readers. It can be funny or serious. I was reading it earlier and thought I’d give it a try. But, before I get to that I want to let you know, I have a blog on blogger.com that I do all of my blog posts on each Monday and since I can’t figure out how to get them all over here too, you can find my main blog site here.

Now, onto what I learned this month.

  1. Children grow way too quickly. My little baby girl turned 16 this month. Earlier this year our other daughter turned 18. Time flies and in that flying we must make the most of every little moment. mygirls

2. No matter how old I get, I will not be a dystopia fan. I really like the Hunger Games. I can get into that. But the rest of these books, especially if they have overtly sexual scenes in them, are not my cup of tea. Being a college student even at the age of 43 means I have to read certain things I’d rather not, but that doesn’t mean I can’t use them in a fire pit to warm up to. Warning, the book Into the Forest by Jean Heglund is not fit for human consumption. In my not so humble opinion.

3. I learned from another professor that I love certain types of Renaissance Literature in poetry. If you’ve never read A Certain Prayer By Lady Jane Grey then go. Now. Do it. (Scroll down the page on the link to see the prayer.) If you are a fan of the Psalms, this will absolutely give you the feels. Lady Jane Grey only lived to her 17th birthday but her love for God was immeasurably beyond her years.

I also love George Herbert’s poetry. He began the idea of shaped poetry and his love for God and ministering to God’s people was very important in his life. Both he and Lady Jane Grey inspire my writings now. My favorite poem by him is called, The Windows.

The Windows

By George Herbert

Lord, how can man preach thy eternal word?
    He is a brittle crazy glass;
Yet in thy temple thou dost him afford
    This glorious and transcendent place,
    To be a window, through thy grace.
But when thou dost anneal in glass thy story,
    Making thy life to shine within
The holy preachers, then the light and glory
    More reverend grows, and more doth win;
    Which else shows waterish, bleak, and thin.
Doctrine and life, colors and light, in one
    When they combine and mingle, bring
A strong regard and awe; but speech alone
    Doth vanish like a flaring thing,
    And in the ear, not conscience, ring.
Kudos to this professor! 🙂
4. I can listen to the same 4 songs over and over again and never get tired of them because I so need them in my life right now. I hope they minister to your heart too. Here’s the first 3:
5. There’s just that one song that if you didn’t listen to any others this is the one you want in your head forever and ever. I cannot explain or describe why I love this song. It just touches my soul so deeply I think I drown in it. Before you listen to it, watch Kristene tell her story about writing this song, then listen to the song with your eyes closed.
Rest in God,
Marcie
Psalm 32:7
P.S. I haven’t used WordPress in a very long time so sorry about the formatting errors. Learning in progress 😉
One thought on “OCTOBER REFLECTIONS

  1. Herbert’s “Windows” is one of my favorites, too. I love the extended metaphor and the striking visual imagery. No dystopia here 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

